Pan-seared Marinated Beef with Pouched Egg

Have anyone of you had watched the Canadian Chef Micheal Smith cooking show? Specifically the Chef at Home cooking show? I really really look up to him, he is a very inspiring person and one of his many infamous quotes is “My secret recipe is cooking without a recipe”. That quote is truly one of my most favorite quotes EVER. He is  a good cook (not just good but extremely good cook) and he is not afraid of trying and tasting new ingredients, pushing himself way from his comfort zone.

Chef Michael Dixon Smith is one of my most favorite chefs of all time. He is a very well-organized person and certainly a very good cook. He had once said "I've cooked for queens and kings, but the greatest critique I've ever had is my own son" lol

Chef Michael Dixon Smith is one of my most favorite chefs of all time. He is a very well-organized person and certainly a very good cook. He had once said “I’ve cooked for presidents and even for queens and kings, but the greatest critique I’ve ever had is my own son” lol

Cooking without a recipe is to be fair very challenging, but what this guy is trying to share is do not afraid of using new ingredients, go for it, play around in your kitchen and you’ll be inspired with the result! I’ve been trying to be just like him, familiarizing with different kind of ingredients, sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t, but who cares, we are having so much fun in the kitchen isn’t? So this recipe came to me by an accident; it was during holiday season when I was really (like REALLY) hungry and so lazy to go outside to buy a dinner for me so instead, I went to my kitchen and found out “There are a lot of stuffs here”. I have a cut of beef (not sure which part), eggs, teriyaki sauce and bonito flakes in my fridge. So I’ve started to experiment cooking a new recipe and voila! It actually worked! So here are my ingredients:

  1. 100-200kg of beef, thinly sliced –any tender cut like sirloin or tenderloin will do (100-200g of beef)
  2. An egg (sebiji telur)
  3. An onion, cut into juliene pieces (bawang besar dipotong halus)
  4. 100g of plain unsalted butter (100g mentega)
  5. Teriyaki sauce (sos teriyaki)
  6. Soy sauce (kicap manis)
  7. 1 teaspoon of vinegar (sesudu besar cuka)
  8. 1 tablespoon of brown sugar (sesudu besar gula perang)
  9. Bonito flakes (emping Bonito) –optional
  10. Green onion, finely sliced (daun bawang diracik halus) –for garnish
  11. Salt and pepper to taste (garam dan lada sulah secukup rasa)

Instructions

  1. Marinate your beef with teriyaki sauce, soy sauce, brown sugar and few touches of salt and pepper. Let it marinates for about half an hour. Fire up your pan into medium heat and few dashes of cooking oil. When the oil is hot enough, you can start to sear up your beef. When cook, let the beef rest
  2. To make the most perfect pouched egg, you’ll need to have a very fresh egg; fresh egg has intact membrane that allows the egg to remain in a good shape during pouching. It is important too to add vinegar into the boiling water to help the egg white to congeal easier. Crack down your egg into a cup. First bring water in a saucepan to almost boiling. If the water is already boiling, lower the heat until it is no longer boiling. Then add your vinegar and gently drop the egg into the water. With a spoon, nudge the egg whites closer to their yolks. This will help the egg whites hold together. At this point, turn off the heat and put your lid on. Let it for about 4 minutes to let the egg cooks. Remove the egg gently from the pan using a spatula.
  3. Fire up you pan under medium with a splash of cooking oil and butter, throw in your onion and let it cook for about 5 minutes until it softens and caramelizes.
  4. Pile up your beef on the plate, sprinkle a few bits of Bonito flakes on top with your caramelized unions. Gently put your pouched egg on top and sprinkle a pinch of pepper and chopped green onion on top of it.

I’m not afraid of doing mistakes in cooking; having multiple flaws and mistakes in the past really have sharpened my ability in cooking and tasting. To be fair, I’m not a good cook at the start (not saying I’m a good cook now either), I often cooked burnt stuffs like overcooked chickens, over-seasoned my foods and baking cake too long turning it into biscuit; but at the end of the day; who cares! As far as I’ve enjoyed my time and I’ve learnt through my mistakes, its enough for me to feel contented more than I’ve could possibly ask and most importantly it makes me happy. That’s the thing about life, go out there, try new things, explore, and don’t afraid of making mistakes cause life is just too short to hold yourself back! Have a try! =)

This dish is invented out of surprise, and I love and enjoy every bite of it. Noted that oozing egg is certainly the best sign of a perfectly pouched egg

This dish is invented out of surprise, and I love and enjoy every bite of it. The oozing egg is certainly the best sign of a perfectly pouched egg

Leave a Reply

